Legal IQ

Legal IQ

LLM Entrance test (clat)

1. “I think adherence to precedent should be the rule and not the exception.” This has been stated by
(a) Cordozo
(b) Blackstone
(c) Keeton
(d) Thibaut.

2. Assertion (A) – Precedent is like a gold in mine.
Reason (R) – It has to be searched in Law Reports
(a) Both (A) and (R) are true and (R) is the correct explanation of (A)
(b) Both (A) and (R) are true and (R) is not the correct explanation of (A)
(c) (A) is true but (R) is false
(d) (A) is false but (R) is true.

3. “Justice is never given. It is always a task to be achieved,” observed by:
(a) Aristotle
(b) Freidrich
(c) Austin
(d) Paton.

4. Who wrote that “The only right which a man can possess is the right always to do his duty”
(a) Duguit
(b) Gray
(c) Comte
(d) Lundstedt.

5. The appropriate writ issued by the Court to quash the appointment of a person to a public office is that of
(a) Certiorari
(b) Prohibition
(c) Quo Warranto
(d) Mandamus.

6. When a writ is issued to an inferior court or tribunal on ground of exceeding the jurisdiction or acting contrary to the rules of natural justice, it is called a writ of
(a) Quo Warranto
(b) Certiorari\
(c) Mandamus
(d) Habeas Corpus.

7. Article 25 of Constitution guarantees freedom of religion, but it is subject to:
(a) Public order, morality, health and other fundamental rights
(b) Public order, morality and health
(c) Public order, morality, health and sovereignty and integrity of India
(d) Public order, morality and secularism.

8. ‘Equality of opportunity in matters of public employment’ is mentioned in which of the following Articles:
(a) Article 14
(b) Article 15
(c) Article 16
(d) Article 17.

9. Article 51A provides for the fundamental duties of
(a) Citizens of India
(b) Foreigners
(c) Public Servants
(d) None of the above.

10. Fundamental Duties of citizens
(a) are contained in Schedule IX of the Constitution
(b) lie scattered throughout the Constitution
(c) are contained in Part IVA of the Constitution
(d) none of the above.

11. The executive power of the Union is vested in the
(a) Prime Minister
(b) Union of India
(c) President of India
(d) None of the above.

12. Rajya Sabha can withhold Money Bills for a period of………..days.
(a) 10
(b) 12
(c) 14
(d) None of the above.

Answers: 1.(a), 2.(a), 3.(b), 4.(a), 5.(c), 6.(b), 7.(a), 8.(c), 9.(a), 10.(c), 11.(c), 12.(c)

The answers are suggestive. Kindly verify from the basic documents and recommended text book in case of doubts.

Leave a Comment